www.mfat.govt.nz www.safetravel.govt.nz
New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade.
.Market accessTrade Relationships and AgreementsAnti CounterfeitingAseanIntegration Partnership ForumAustraliaChinaGulf Cooperation CouncilHong KongIndiaKoreaMalaysiaRCEPRussia Belarus KazakhstanSingaporeThailandTrade in ServicesTrans PacificExport controlsNZ Inc Country and Regional StrategiesAPECEASNZ and the WTOOECDTrade and economic analysisTrade law

Related resources

Links to AANZFTA Website

ASEAN, Australia and New Zealand Free Trade Agreement

The agreement establishing the ASEAN, Australia and New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) was signed by New Zealand, Australian and ASEAN Trade Ministers on 27 February 2009 at the ASEAN Summit in Hua Hin, Thailand.

The AANZFTA agreement entered into force on 1 January 2010 for (and between) the following countries - Australia, Brunei, Myanmar, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, the Philippines, and Viet Nam. The agreement entered into force for Thailand on 12 March 2010 and Lao PDR and Cambodia on 1 and 4 January 2011 respectively. It will enter into force for Indonesia after it has notified completion of its internal ratification procedures.

The AANZFTA represents a significant milestone in New Zealand’s engagement and ongoing integration into one of the world’s most economically dynamic regions. ASEAN is our third largest export market, with two-way trade in goods worth $9.82 billion in the year to June 2010. Globally ASEAN represents a market of more than 600 million people witha combined GDP of US$2.7 trillion.

For further information on AANZFTA, including but not limited to the following list, please visit the whole-of-government website: www.ASEAN.fta.govt.nz

Integration Partnership Forum

Page last updated: Tuesday, 20 May 2014 09:18 NZST