www.mfat.govt.nz www.safetravel.govt.nz
New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade.
.Market accessTrade Relationships and AgreementsExport controlsNZ Inc Country and Regional StrategiesAPECWhat APEC doesGoals and achievementsOrganisationImportance to NZAPEC FAQsInformation for businessesAPEC travel cardsEASNZ and the WTOOECDTrade and economic analysisTrade lawtplu form

Related resources

External links

image of APEC logo.


"Advancing free trade for Asia-Pacific prosperity"


APEC 2012

APEC Background

New Zealand was a founding member of APEC when it began in 1989 with 12 members.

APEC now comprises of 21 members: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong China, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, the United States and Viet Nam.

APEC members are referred to as "Member Economies” because not all members are states and the APEC process is predominantly concerned with trade and economic issues.
APEC spans four continents and is home to approximately 40 per cent of the world’s population. APEC accounts for close to 47 per cent of the world’s trade and 56 per cent of global GDP (according to 2012 UNCTAD estimates).

The focal point of APEC is its Annual Economic Leaders' Meeting, the largest gathering of its kind in the region. The APEC process involves ministerial and officials' forums covering a wide range of issues, including trade and investment, economic cooperation and counter-terrorism.

More Information

APEC Member Economies
APEC member countries.

Page last updated: Monday, 23 September 2013 11:02 NZST