www.mfat.govt.nz www.safetravel.govt.nz
New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade.
.Treaties for which NZ is DepositaryTrade law and free trade agreementsTreaty making processLaw of the Sea and FisheriesInternational Humanitarian LawInternational Courts and TribunalsPrivate International LawDiplomatic Privileges and ImmunitiesUnited Nations Security Council SanctionsInternational Law Events

Treaties and International Law

Protocol II to the Convention for the Prohibition of Fishing with Long Driftnets in the South Pacific

Current status of the Convention

Date of Adoption

20 October 1990

Place of Adoption

Noumea, New Caledonia

Date of Entry into Force

Enters into force for each ratifying State on the date of deposit of its instrument of ratification

Membership (States Eligible to become Party)

Open for signature (subject to ratification) by any State the waters of which are contiguous with or adjacent to the Convention Area

Open for signature (subject to ratification) by any other State invited to sign by the Parties to the Convention


English, French

List of Participating States 
(as at 26/3/2007)



Entry into Force

Canada 24/09/1991 28/08/1998 28/08/1998
Chile 01/11/1991 05/10/1993 05/10/1993

Information provided by States that have not signed, ratified or acceded to the instrument but have signified their intention to do so.

Further information is available from the Ocean Law Publishing International Fisheries Law and Policy Portal [external link].


Back to Treaties for which New Zealand is the depositary index page

top of page

Page last updated: Tuesday, 23 November 2010 09:12 NZDT