COMPETENT AUTHORITIES

A. Competent authorities of the Union

Control is shared between the national authorities of the Member States and the European Commission. In this respect, the following applies:

- (a) For exports to New Zealand, the national authorities of the Member States are responsible for the control of the production circumstances and requirements, including statutory inspections or audits and issuing health certification in relation to the agreed SPS measures and requirements;
- (b) For imports from New Zealand, the national authorities of the Member States are responsible for the control of compliance of the imports with the Union's import conditions; and
- (c) The European Commission is responsible for the overall coordination, inspection or audits of control systems and the necessary measures, including legislative action to ensure uniform application of standards and requirements of Chapter 6 (Sanitary and phytosanitary measures).

B. Competent authorities of New Zealand

For the purposes of Chapter 6 (Sanitary and phytosanitary measures) the Ministry for Primary Industries is the competent authority that has the responsibility and technical competence for developing and supervising the implementation and operation of SPS measures and providing official export certification.
