Find your country in the table below for the opening and closing dates for New Zealand Scholarship applications from your country.

You can submit your application any time between the opening date and the closing deadline. We do not accept late applications.

The New Zealand Scholarships online application system can get overloaded at application closing time. This can cause technical issues. To avoid any disappointment, submit your application 3-10 days before the closing deadline. We accept no responsibility for technical problems with any IT systems.

Most deadlines are in New Zealand Time (NZDT) (external link). Applications close at midday, not midnight. 

Applications for different countries will have slightly different closing and opening dates to prevent system overloading. Please check the dates for your country as they may not be the same as others.

Application GroupEligible countriesForm typeDates

Group 1

A: Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina

B: Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil

C: Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba

D: Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic

E: Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eswatini, Ethiopia

F: Fiji

G: Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana

H-K: Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya

L: Lao PDR, Lesotho

M: Malawi, Malaysia, Micronesia (Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau), Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar

N: Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Niue

P-R: Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda

S: St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa (Open Category), Senegal, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Suriname

T: Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu

U-Z: Uganda, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Apply online only

Opens: Saturday 1 February 2020, 12.01 am NZ Time.

Closes: Friday 28 February 2020, 12.00 pm NZ Time.

Group 2


Paper applications can be collected from the New Zealand High Commission.

Applications must be submitted to the New Zealand High Commission.


New Zealand High Commission

PO Box 53

Bairiki, Tarawa


Tel: +686 21400

Fax: +686 21402


Unique process with paper form

Opens: Monday 10 February 2020, 9.00 am local time.

Closes: Friday 20 March 2020 4.00 pm local time.

Group 3

 Samoa (Foundation)

Apply online only

Opens: Monday 6 July 2020, 12.00 am NZ Time.

Closes: Wednesday 5 August 2020, 12.00pm NZ Time.

Group 4  Commonwealth countries Unique process with paper form

Opens: Monday 3 February 2020, 12.01 am NZ Time.

Closes: Friday 27 March 2020, 12.00 pm NZ Time.