New Zealand’s Pacific neighbours receive almost 60% of our aid funding, reflecting New Zealand’s shared interest with Pacific peoples in the prosperity and stability of the region.

We support Pacific countries’ aspirations to make the most of economic development opportunities, address continuing hardship and build resilience to climate change and natural disasters. New Zealand’s Pacific connections, knowledge and experience enable us to make an impact through our development engagement.

The New Zealand Aid Programme will invest $1 billion in the Pacific region over the period 2015/16-2017/18. This includes an increase of $111 million over the previous funding period. 

We focus on areas where there's a match between the development needs and priorities of Pacific partner countries and our 12 investment priorities. Our development partnerships with Pacific governments are reinforced by Joint Commitments for Development that set out the different components of New Zealand support, the process of policy dialogue, mutual accountabilities and results.

News & Events

USA,Texas - Hurricane Harvey

United States of America

New Zealanders in Texas should be aware that severe flooding is of concern in south-eastern Texas due to the on-going effects of Hurricane Harvey.