About the Republic of Palau

The republic of Palau is located in the Western Pacific Ocean and is home to 29,000 people.

It is an independent, democratic country with strong ties to the United States through a 50-year Compact of Free Association which runs until 2024. Under the Compact, the US provides funding to Palau as well as public services such as weather forecasting, health services, disaster assistance and postal services. The US is also responsible for Palau's defence and security.

Palau’s 340 islands have a total land area of 458km2 spread over 629,000 km2 of the Pacific. The people of Palau live on just eight of these islands. The capital, Ngerulmud, is in Melekeok State which is on Palau’s largest island, Babeldaob.

New Zealand’s relationship with Palau is centred on our common interests in Pacific issues such as regional security, sustainable fisheries management, climate change, and oceans.


We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. You can find out more information on our Privacy Page.