About Niue

Niue is situated in the South Pacific between Tonga, Samoa and Cook Islands. Its land area is 260 square km and its population is around 1,700.

On this page

Niue is self-governing in ‘free association’ with New Zealand. It is part of the Realm of New Zealand, which means that we share the same Head of State, His Majesty the King in Right of New Zealand.

Under the Niue Constitution Act 1974, New Zealand provides necessary economic and administrative assistance to Niue, as well as assistance with foreign affairs, defence and security if requested by the Niue government.

On 26 April 2019, the Governments of New Zealand and Niue signed a Statement of Partnership setting out the principles and priorities under which we will cooperate, coordinate and partner in shared priority areas.

New Zealand’s engagement prioritises empowering the Government of Niue, to ensure the people of Niue lead prosperous, healthy, and safe lives connected to culture, land, and community. This is achieved primarily by partnering in the delivery of equitable and effective public services in Niue.

Under New Zealand law, all Niueans are New Zealand citizens. At last census counts, 30,867 ethnic Niueans were resident in New Zealand (2018) and 4,958 in Australia (2016).


We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. You can find out more information on our Privacy Page.