Our relationship with south-east Europe

New Zealand has cordial relations with the non-EU member state countries in the south-east region of Europe, with emerging trade and economic connections.  These countries include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Montenegro, and Serbia. New Zealand is accredited to these countries from its Embassy in Rome, and also engages with them through a range of multilateral fora, particularly the United Nations, the Croatia Summit, and the Asia-Europe Meeting.

The tempo of senior visits is increasing, including at Ministerial level. In 2014, New Zealand Minister of Foreign Affairs Hon Murray McCully became the first New Zealand Minister to visit Serbia and also visited Montenegro. The Montenegrin Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Dr Petar Ivanović reciprocated this visit in June 2015. New Zealand’s Special Envoy Jim Bolger visited Albania in April 2014.

New Zealand has a strong history of commitment to peace and security in the region. In 1992 New Zealand made a significant contribution to peacekeeping in Bosnia and Herzegovina, providing support to United Nations and European-led stabilisation and peacekeeping forces. In May 2014 Serbia and Bosnia & Herzegovina experienced severe flooding, which caused widespread destruction and loss of life. Through the International Federation of the Red Cross, New Zealand contributed $300,000 of humanitarian support to the region.

While currently limited, our trade and economic connections with the region have the potential to grow, with countries such as North Macedonia being among the fastest growing economies in Europe. Several countries in the region are also on the path to accession to the European Union, which would further boost our commercial ties with the region.    

Embassies and consular services

The New Zealand Embassy in Rome is accredited to Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia.

News & Events

Measles outbreak in New Zealand


There is currently an outbreak of measles in New Zealand. The outbreak is pre-dominantly in the Auckland region.

Die Botschaft beim CSD Berlin


Die Botschaften von Australien, Kanada, Neuseeland und des Vereinigten Königreichs nehmen gemeinsam am Berliner Christopher Street Day 2019 teil.

New travel rules for New Zealand

Czech Republic

From 1 October 2019, some international visitors and transit passengers must have an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority) before travelling to NZ

Measles outbreak in New Zealand

Latin America
Middle East
North America
North Asia
South Asia
South East Asia
United Kingdom

Find out more about the current outbreak of measles in New Zealand.