Our relationship with Latin America

Latin America is important to us; it is part of the Asia Pacific region but is also a key partner in its own right. Our Latin America Strategy guides our efforts to deepen our relationships with key Latin countries such as Mexico, Colombia, Chile, Peru, Brazil and Argentina. 

We have a lot in common with Latin America and work closely with Latin countries on a range of international issues. We are both major agricultural producers, and we are working together to support global agricultural and fisheries reform. We also cooperate closely on areas such as climate change and the environment, Antarctic issues, disarmament, human rights and indigenous issues.

Formal connections

  • the United Nations (UN);
  • World Trade Organisation (WTO);
  • the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Forum (APEC);
  • the Pacific Alliance;
  • the Community for Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC);
  • the Central American Integration Scheme (SICA);
  • the Forum for East Asia – Latin America Cooperation (FEALAC); and
  • the Global Research Alliance on Agricultural Greenhouse Gases.


Latin American countries are important trading partners for us, although there is a lot of untapped potential. We are an Observer of the Pacific Alliance (a regional integration initiative between Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru) and have a long-standing dialogue with Mercosur (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay).
A significant number of Latin American countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Paraguay and Uruguay) are members of the Cairns Group (external link), along with New Zealand and Australia.

Latin America is an important source of students and tourists for New Zealand, and there are a range of Working Holiday Schemes in place that can enable young New Zealanders to travel in the region.

Trade agreements and negotiations

The Latin America New Zealand Business Council (LANZBC) will be of interest to businesses and individuals interested in learning more about doing business with Latin America.


The New Zealand Aid Programme has worked with Latin America since the 1970s. Our priority there is agricultural development.

Read more about the New Zealand Aid Programme in Latin America

Embassies and consular services

 LocationService areas
Argentina, Buenos Aires Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay
Brazil, Brasilia Brazil, Suriname
Chile, Santiago Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Peru
Colombia, Bogotá Colombia
Mexico, Mexico City Belize, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Venezuela