New Zealanders travelling to Thailand are advised to adhere to recently introduced measures by the Government of  the Kingdom of Thailand to conserve the environment and protect natural resources in beaches and coastal areas.

These measures will prohibit:

1. Smoking or disposing of cigarettes, except in designated areas

2. Disposing of all forms of wastes, including toxic waste such as polystyrene substance, plastic and leftover oil, except in designated areas

3. Any act that can cause damage to coastal areas.

Beaches and Coastal Areas under the New Measures include:

  • Banchuen Beach, Amphoe Klong Yai, Trat Province
  • Laem Sadet Beach, Amphoe Tha Mai, Chantaburi Province
  • Saeng Chan Beach, Amphoe Meuang, Rayong Province
  • Bangsaen Beach, Amphoe Meuang, Chon Buri Province
  • Tam Pang Beach, Amphoe Ko Si Chang, Chon Buri Province
  • Sai Kaew Beach, Amphoe Sattahip, Chon Buri Province
  • Dongtan Beach, Amphoe Bang Lamung, Chon Buri Province
  • Cham-am Beach, Amphoe Cha-am, Petchaburi Province
  • Hua Hin Beach and Khao Ta Kieb Beach, Amphoe Hua Hin, Prachuap Kirikan Province
  • Sairee Beach, Amphoe Mueang, Chumphon Province
  • Bor Pud Beach, Amphoe Koh Samui, Suratthani Province
  • Samran Beach, Amphoe Hat Samran, Trang Province
  • Klong Dao Beach and Kor Kwang, Amphoe Koh Lanta, Krabi Province
  • Phra-ae Beach, Amphoe Koh Lanta, Krabi Province
  • Khao Lak Beach, Amphoe Takua Pah, Phang-Nga Province
  • Khai Nok Beach and Khai Nai Beach, Amphoe Koh Yao, Phang-Nga Province
  • Patong Beach, Amphoe Kratoo, Phuket Province
  • Wasugree Beach, Amphoe Saiburi, Pattani Province
  • Chalatas Beach, Amphoe Muang, Songkla Province
  • Plai Sai, Amphoe Pak Panang, Nakhon Si Thammarat Province
  • Chalok Baan Kao Beach, Koh Tao, Amphoe Koh Pa-ngan, Suratthani Province

Further information is available by contacting the Department of Marine and Coastal Resources, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, telephone +66 2 143 9247.