Find out more about the NZ-Gulf Cooperation Council Free Trade Agreement

On this page


Negotiations on the NZ GCC FTA started in 2007 and were substantially concluded in October 2009 but due to a moratorium on FTAs put in place by the GCC and other political developments the agreement was never finalised nor signed. Following the Minister of Trade and Export Growth’s visit to the region in March 2022, the GCC and New Zealand have now agreed to reengage in negotiations. These discussions will be based on the text agreed in 2009, with a focus on goods market access and labour and environment outcomes.

Map of GCC members; Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, UAE and Oman. .

GCC members

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) members include Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman and Bahrain

GCC countries are rich in oil and gas, but lack farmland for food production and have high demand for imported food and drinks. New Zealand’s trusted meat and dairy exports meet some of that demand.

GCC countries are also motivated to reduce their trade reliance on oil and diversify their economies into high-tech and service sectors.

There is strong potential for New Zealand’s Government, service sector businesses and education providers to work with GCC countries towards this goal. 

Share your views

If you have questions about the New Zealand-Gulf Cooperation Council FTA please get in touch with us.

Email: GCCFTA@mfat.govt.nz

Mail: Coordinator, NZ-GCC FTA

Trade and Economic Group

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Private Bag 18901



We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. You can find out more information on our Privacy Page.