The legally verified text of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPP) was released on 26 January 2016. (This supersedes the version of the TPP text that was initially released by TPP Parties on 5 November 2015.) The French and Spanish language versions of the Agreement were released on this website on 2 February 2016, the rectified text of the French and Spanish language versions was uploaded on 13 April 2016.

Current status of the Agreement

TPP negotiations concluded on 5 October 2015. The TPP was signed by Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Mexico, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, United States of America and Viet Nam in Auckland, New Zealand on 4 February 2016.

On 20 January 2017, the Government of Japan notified New Zealand, as Depositary of the TPP, of the completion of Japan’s applicable legal procedures necessary for entry into force of the Agreement.

In a letter dated 30 January 2017, the United States sent a letter to New Zealand, as Depositary of the TPP, stating their intention not to become a Party to the TPP and that they have no legal obligations arising from their signature on 4 February 2016.

The TPP has not yet entered into force.