Guidelines for the diplomatic and consular corps

The Protocol Guidelines are intended to provide the diplomatic and consular community with a practical guide to New Zealand practice, regulations, privileges and immunities.


These guidelines are designed to provide practical guidance and to respond to frequently asked questions. They are not intended to be exhaustive or legally definitive. Missions are welcome to seek advice from the Protocol Division of MFAT.


Chief of Protocol: Rod Harris
Deputy Chief of Protocol (Diplomatic Protocol Unit): Lisa White
Visits and Events Logistics Unit: Michael Carruthers, Unit Manager 

Contact details

Physical address:

Protocol Division
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
HSBC Building
195 Lambton Quay
Wellington 6011

Postal Address:

Private Bag 18-901, WELLINGTON 5045
Telephone: (04) 439 8000


Diplomatic and consular practice in New Zealand is based on the provisions of the Vienna Conventions on Diplomatic Relations and the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, along with principles of reciprocity and other widely accepted international practice.

New Zealand signed the 1961 Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations (VCDR) on 28 March 1962 and its relevant articles were given the force of law in New Zealand by the Diplomatic Privileges and Immunities Act 1968. New Zealand acceded to the 1963 Vienna Convention on Consular Relations (VCCR) on 23 September 1974 and its relevant articles were given the force of law in New Zealand by the Consular Privileges and Immunities Act 1971.


We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. You can find out more information on our Privacy Page.