Implementation of travel bans on Myanmar military leaders


On 9 February 2021, the Minister of Foreign Affairs announced the implementation of a travel ban(external link) on Myanmar’s military leaders. This has now been implemented over the following members of Myanmar’s military:

  • Senior General Min Aung Hlaing
  • Vice-Senior General Soe Win
  • Lieutenant General Myint Swe
  • Lieutenant General Soe Htut
  • Lieutenant General Mya Tun Oo

This list will remain under review.

The military coup in Myanmar is of significant concern to New Zealand. We condemn violence against peaceful protestors in Myanmar and call for the release of all those detained and a return to civilian rule. Those responsible for the injuries and deaths of protestors and political prisoners should be held to account.


We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. You can find out more information on our Privacy Page.