Implementation of travel bans on individuals in Myanmar with responsibility for the 1 February 2021 coup and related human rights violations

Ministry Statements & Speeches:

On 1 February 2022, the anniversary of the 1 February 2021 military coup in Myanmar, New Zealand Minister of Foreign Affairs Nanaia Mahuta announced the implementation of further travel bans on individuals linked to the February military coup in Myanmar, with responsibility for the ongoing atrocities and human rights violations:

  • Lieutenant General Aung Lin Dwe
  • Lieutenant General Ye Win Oo
  • Lieutenant General Moe Myint Tun
  • General Maung Maung Kyaw
  • Admiral Tin Aung San
  • Mahn Nyein Maung
  • Thein Nyunt
  • Khin Maung Swe
  • Sai Lone Hseng
  • Aye Nu Sein
  • Jeng Phang Naw Taung
  • Maung Ha
  • Saw Daniel
  • Banyar Aung Moe
  • Shwe Kyein
  • Lieutenant General Sein Win

This list will remain under review.


We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. You can find out more information on our Privacy Page.