PacificTA: Programme for Technical Assistance to Pacific Island Countries

The Local Government Technical Assistance Facility for Pacific Island countries (PacificTA) is funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme and implemented by Local Government New Zealand.

PacificTA was established in 2012 to assist Pacific Island countries develop and deliver appropriate solutions to service delivery at the local level.  This can be in areas of urban planning, infrastructure planning and management, water and waste management, asset management.

Pacific Island countries with a bilateral programme with New Zealand are eligible.  This includes the Cook Islands, Tonga, Niue, Samoa, Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, Tuvalu, Tokelau and Kiribati.

This initiative mainly involves provision of short term technical expertise to the Pacific.  Longer term assistance is considered on a case by case basis.

Futher information about PacificTA can also be on the Local Government website(external link)


We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. You can find out more information on our Privacy Page.