Countries and regions

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade interacts with other governments on behalf of the New Zealand Government.

On this page

We work with international and regional organisations to advance New Zealand's interests, and protect the security and stability of our region. We also take into account New Zealand's political, trade and economic objectives.

To find out more about New Zealand’s relations with other countries and territories, select a region.

Working holiday visa schemes

New Zealand has working holiday visa arrangements with 41 countries. The schemes give young New Zealand citizens (generally aged between 18 and 30, with some exceptions) the opportunity to holiday and work overseas. Find out more below:

Argentina Austria Belgium Brazil
Canada Chile Croatia Czech Republic
Denmark Estonia Finland France
Germany Hungary Hong Kong Ireland
Israel Italy Japan Latvia
Luxembourg Malaysia Malta Mexico
Netherlands Norway Peru Philippines
Poland Singapore Slovakia Slovenia
South Korea Spain Sweden Taiwan
Thailand Türkiye United Kingdom Uruguay
United States of America Viet Nam Lithuania  


We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. You can find out more information on our Privacy Page.