Sanctions apply pressure to countries that threaten peace, have harmful policies or don’t cooperate with international law. Sanctions can also apply to individual people.


United Nation's sanctions logo
United Nation's sanctions logo

Sanctions are a common measure that the United Nations Security Council takes to enforce its decisions. As a UN member, New Zealand is bound to follow the Security Council's decisions. The United Nations Act 1946 means our Government can respond quickly where necessary and impose or remove sanctions when the Security Council makes a decision.

While we don’t have standalone legislation to impose our own sanctions independently of the Security Council, we can impose other sanctions such as travel bans on people entering our country. Examples include travel sanctions on specific individuals linked to the Ukraine crisis which were introduced in 2014, and travel bans imposed on Fiji in response to the 2006 coup which have since been lifted. 

New Zealanders must comply

New Zealanders must fully comply with regulations that implement Security Council sanctions. Given the wide scope of the regulations, and the penalties for non-compliance, it's essential that anyone contemplating doing business with sanctioned countries obtains independent legal advice first.

This guidance does not constitute legal advice. MFAT accepts no liability for any loss or damage caused to any person relying on this information.

Current UN sanctions

See the New Zealand regulations regarding current Security Council sanctions for the following states and entities.


North Korea 


Iran (external link)

Find out about special requirements when doing business with Iran


South Sudan (external link)

Syria Cultural Property (external link) 


Central African Republic (external link)

Yemen (external link)


Guinea-Bissau (external link)


Libya (external link)


Eritrea (external link)


Lebanon (external link)

2007 Al Qaida and Taliban (external link)
2005 Cote d'Ivoire (external link)

Democratic Republic of the Congo (external link)

Kimberley Process (external link)

Sudan (external link)

2003 Iraq reconstruction (external link)
2001 Liberia (external link)
1992 Somalia (external link)
1991 Iraq (external link)